Crafts & DIY's

DIY Marble Mug

Hey guys! Lately I have been really busy studying for finals, but I’m finally done! I’m here with my first DIY on the blog, Marble Mugs!


I really wanted to give gifts to my friends, but didn’t have the funds to buy up the whole mall. So this, along with a few other things, is what I came up with.

img_0095

Things you’ll need:

  • Mug
  • Different colors of nail polish
  • Plastic container (that you don’t plan on using again)
  • Warm water
  • Mod Podge
  • Painting sponge
  • Sharpie

First, you want to start off by filling the plastic container 3/4 full with warm water. Next you want to pick the polish of choice and pour it into the water.

You can do more than one color and use a toothpick to create a design. I suggest moving  quickly because the nail polish tends to settle very fast. Now you can dip the bottom of the mug into the water. Place the mug into water in the position that you want it. For example,  if you want a design on the front only, place the down only on the front side.

For some of the mugs I did, I dipped them more than once in order to get a different pattern. After each mug, I put new water in the container. Then, I placed each mug upside down onto to some plastic bags and let them dry overnight.

img_0116

After this, I wrote their names on the mugs with a black sharpie to personalize them. Then, to coat them and make them last, I placed 3 coats of mod podge. After I placed each coat on the mug, I let them sit for an hour before I placed the next coat. And that’s it!

img_0126img_0124

Hope y’all enjoyed my first DIY! There will be many more to come! Don’t forget to like this post, comment, and subscribe!!

Leave a Reply

